Skip to main content

Posts

Featured

As Cassini Makes 1st 'Grand Finale' Dive, More Saturn Mysteries Remain

Running low on fuel, NASA's Cassini spacecraft has begun the final — and most daring — phase of its epic mission to Saturn.

After using a final flyby of the moon Titan on Friday to boost its speed, Cassini was flung by the moon's gravity to a trajectory that sent it diving through the 1,200-mile (1,930 kilometers) gap between the planet's upper atmosphere and innermost rings, NASA officials said.

Cassini completed the first crossing of the ring plane at about 2 a.m. PDT (5 a.m. EDT, or 0900 GMT) Wednesday, the space agency said in a statement.

As Cassini Makes 1st 'Grand Finale' Dive, More Saturn Mysteries Remain

Latest posts

Will circular runways ever take off?

NASA's Apollo 13 Mission of Survival in Pictures

“Strange” Signal From Star Triggers SETI Investigation—Much To Scientists’ Dismay | The Next Generation

Paralyzed Man Regains Hand Movement, Thanks to First-Ever Nerve-Transfer Surgery | The Next Generation

A guide to the nanotechnology used in the average home | The Next Generation

Scientists have invented a new glass coating for omnidirectional solar panels | The Next Generation

Galactic ‘burp’ shows black holes can also create, not just destroy | The Next Generation

New material converts CO2 into clean fuel with unprecedented efficiency | The Next Generation

Neil deGrasse Tyson Replies to Lincoln's Gettysburg Address

Your 2015 year in blogging